Am I thinking of others?

I just received a push notification that had Phillippians 2:3 on it. I use a YouVersion Bible app that has many different translations on it. I set it up to send me the verse of the day every morning (thus the Bible posts).

Phillippians 2:3 reads this way:

Do nothing out of rivalry or conceit,but in humility consider others as more important than yourselves. (‭Philippians‬ ‭2‬:‭3‬ HCSB)

What does that mean?

Well it simply means that we shouldn’t be doing things to be better than our rival or do things for our own good or benefit. We as Christ followers should look out for others’ interests too. I feel guilty because sometimes I’m selfishly thinking of myself. I shouldn’t do that. I should be thinking of others. I should be humble. Humility is defined as

the quality or state of not thinking you are better than other people : the quality or state of being humble.

Lord,
Help us live out this passage as we live our days on earth.
Amen.

Leave a Reply

